Server Online
Server Online

FileCloud Desktop for Windows Release 23.253.7

Server upgrade recommended for enhanced FileCloud Desktop for Windows performance and prevention of unnecessary file conflicts 

A new feature called ETAG (unique file identifier) has been added to FileCloud Desktop for Windows to help prevent unnecessary file conflicts and improve the reliability of file syncing.

  • If you want to use this feature, upgrading the server to version 23.262.2 (available at the end of August) or later is mandatory.

  • If you don't need this feature right now, an upgrade isn't required. However, we recommend upgrading soon to improve overall performance and fix known issues with file conflicts.

Uninstall FileCloud Sync if it is installed on the same machine that you are installing or running FileCloud Desktop on; otherwise, FileCloud Desktop will not work properly

To apply these enhancements and fixes, please update FileCloud Desktop from Windows using the link at the Additional Downloads page on the FileCloud website.

Release enhancements:

  • When a watermark restriction prevents a download, the error message now states that the watermark restriction is the cause, rather than reporting a general access issue.

  • The Lock automatically on edit setting is now available. See FileCloud Desktop for Windows Settings.

  • A Pause Sync button now appears on all tabs in the dashboard, enabling users to pause and restart sync. See Using the Dashboard in FileCloud Desktop for Windows.

  • In the Activity tab, the right-click menu option for a conflict listing that was previously labelled Dismiss this conflict is now labelled Mark as seen to indicate that the conflict file is maintained by the application.

Release bug fixes:

  • Problems with conflict notifications in the Activity tab have been fixed.

  • Users could not save files to Network Folders. This has been fixed.

  • When users tried to “save as” an Adobe file to My Files, the file was saved correctly, but multiple errors appeared in the activity log. This has been fixed.

  • When a user attempts to log in with a disabled account, the error message now accurately notifies the user that the account is disabled instead of reporting that credentials are invalid.

  • When users opened, edited, and saved an Excel file, the activity log showed that the user was trying to lock the file and then showed a file not found error. This has been fixed.

  • Several strings in English that were not translated for other locales have now been translated.

  • In the Live tab, the width of the text area under the progress bar for listings of uploads and downloads has been increased so path information can be shown.

  • In the Offline tab, when the folder icon next to a file was clicked, instead of the folder opening, the file was opened in its editor. This has been fixed.

  • A case-only rename of a folder on the server tried to sync to the client indefinitely without success, and any new files placed into the folder on the server never synced to the client. This has been fixed.

  • SSO login against an IdP or server with a bad certificate showed a blank authentication window instead of an error. This has been fixed.

  • An issue that caused files that no longer existed on the server to appear in My Files, resulting in failed copy operations or system crashes, has been fixed.

  • Customers editing Word documents in Team Folders over long, uninterrupted sessions could see repeated, unnecessary conflict copies created although one person was editing the file. This has been fixed.

  • A problem causing file deletion failure has been fixed.

  • Explorer context menu actions, such as Open in Browser, Share, and Lock, stopped working after a second copy of FileCloud Desktop launched while one was already running. This has been fixed.

  • After a network share conflict, the original file became inaccessible from Windows Explorer until the user refreshed the screen. This has been fixed.

  • Users could not log in to some older versions of Windows that FileCloud still supports. This has been fixed.

Known issues/Recommendations

  • In FileCloud Desktop for Windows, a file locked manually and then edited by the same user may be automatically unlocked when the user closes the file. However, the file should not be unlocked until the user removes the manual lock.

  • In FileCloud Desktop for Windows, if a user is viewing details of an auto-locked file in FileCloud for Office and clicks refresh, the file may be unlocked. To avoid confusion, we recommended that users do not use FileCloud for Office when auto-locking is enabled.